Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
Jacomo Sailing Club
HomeSailing Lessons

Jacomo Sailing Education Program


Adult Learn to Sail

This basic sailing course is designed for beginners with no sailing experience.  The classroom instruction begins with an emphasis on safety and the theory of how sails work. The rest of the course follows the process of “going sailing”, and covers maintenance, rigging, launching, sailing upwind and downwind, starting and stopping, right-of-way, and docking. Each student then receives on the water training to solidify their skills.


Tuesday and Thursday classroom sessions meet at the Jacomo Sailing Center, 6:30pm-9:00pm
Saturday On-the-Water sessions meet at the Lake Jacomo Marina Rigging Lot, 8:30am - 1:00pm

The fee for this class is $200. For an additional $100 you may bring a spouse/family member/a friend/significant other, etc...you get the drift. Learn something new together!

Register here by clicking on the button or from a Tuesday class from the calendar to register. Registration and payment are required in advance. Remember you can bring a buddy for an extra $100.

Learn to Race

This basic racing course is designed for beginners with limited sailing / racing experience.  The classroom instruction begins with an emphasis on safety and the racing rules. The rest of the course follows the process of “smart sailing”, and covers racing tactics. Each student then receives "on the water" training to solidify their skills. Fees to be determined.



****Note: "On the Water" Training Days are subject to rescheduling due to wind and weather conditions.

 

Learn to Sail (#1) Adult "Learn To Sail" (#1) - 5/7/2019

  • Tue May 7
  • Thu May 9
  • Sat May 11
  • Sat May 18

Adult "Learn To Sail" (#2) - 5/28/2019

  • Tue May 28
  • Thu May 30
  • Sat Jun 1
  • Sat Jun 15

Learn to Sail (#3)  Adult "Learn To Sail" (#3) - 6/18/2019

  • Tue Jun 18
  • Thu Jun 20
  • Sat Jun 22
  • Sat Jun 29

Learn to Sail (#4)  Adult "Learn To Sail" (#4) - 7/9/2019

  • Tue Jul 9
  • Thu Jul 11
  • Sat Jul 13
  • Sat Jul 20

Learn to Sail (#5)  Adult "Learn To Sail" (#5) - 8/6/2019

  • Tue Aug 6
  • Thu Aug 8
  • Sat Aug 10
  • Sat Aug 17
Due to the holiday weekends, the Saturday on-water-training days are flexible.  Please let us know what days or evenings will work for you.


Bring a family member or a friend with you. Only $100.00 extra.
Learn something new together!
Contact: info@jacomosailingclub.org 

New Class
  LEARN TO RACE (Choose 1)

  • Sun July 21
  • Sun Aug 4
  • Sun Aug 18
  • Sun Sep 8

Certified Club Level Race Officer Training

Race Officer Training
This is on-going training...for more information please Contact: rc@jacomosailingclub.org

 




Jacomo Sailing Club PO Box 7160 Lee’s Summit, MO 64064-7160   816-607-1807
JSC Training/Sailing Center 22103 SW Woods Chapel Rd